After the Party: Resetting a Moodle course

http://www.flickr.com/photos/ytruly/2662120147/sizes/sq/in/photostream/Teaching is just like hosting a party- Hopefully everyone has a great time but when the guests have left you’re left to clean up after them. The same thing needs to happen in your Moodle course, once you’ve finished teaching and assessing one group you need to get it ready for the next.

Before you commence your next class you will want to Reset the course. What does this mean and what are the implications of doing this?

Moodle describe Resetting a course as allowing you to empty a course of user data, while retaining the activities and other settings. An important caveat though– Once deleted your chosen user data is deleted totally. Be careful. So, what do I have to do to Reset my Course?

Moodle sum it up very succinctly:

  1. Log in and go to the course area you want to Reset (you need to have editing permissions on this)
  2. Resetting a given activity is irreversible, so ensure that you have taken a Backup of your area including the user data – this is a snapshot and can be reinstated if necessary
  3. In your area’s Administration block, click on Reset
  4. Click any ‘Show Advanced’ buttons to show all options for that category
  5. Make your selections based on the options
  6. Click the Reset button
  7. Return to your Course and check that things are as you want them.

We have also created a clip that may make it easier to follow if you’re a visual learner.

We hope this clip and post has been helpful, please don’t hesitate to leave a comment, we really appreciate your feed back.

Image: http://www.flickr.com/photos/ytruly/2662120147/sizes/sq/in/photostream/
12 responses to “After the Party: Resetting a Moodle course

  1. Pingback: August 2011 « S.A. E-Learning Newsletter·

  2. Pingback: End of year tasks in Moodle, don’t rely on Santa to do it for you! |·

  3. I think that is among the so much important
    information for me. And i’m happy reading your article. However wanna statement on few basic things, The web site style is ideal, the articles is in reality excellent : D. Just right process, cheers

  4. I personally was basically looking for creative concepts for
    my site and discovered your posting, “After the Party: Resetting a
    Moodle course |”, would you mind in the event that I make
    use of several of your concepts? Thanks -Ashli

  5. Howdy! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you using
    for this website? I’m getting fed up of WordPress because I’ve had issues with hackers and I’m looking at options for another platform. I would be great if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  6. My brother suggested I would possibly like this website.
    He was once entirely right. This publish truly made my day.
    You can not believe simply how much time I had spent for this information!
    Thank you!

  7. Incredible post, superb information. Many times I come across seriously awfully written articles.
    I mean truly junk stuff. I often click away before I even get past the first paragraph.
    It’s refreshing to come across something which is in fact good. Congratulations!

  8. Hey there, You’ve done an excellent job. I will certainly digg it and personally suggest to my friends. I am sure they will be benefited from this website.

Leave a Reply

